Winning Isn’t Everything, Right?

Yesterday: Take the kids to Safeway to procure ingredients for lasagne.Cashier gives the kids two pull-tab instant win contest forms to play with while I pay. One kid gets the standard “Sorry! Try again!” The other gets “YOU WIN! ONE FREE HERSHEY CHOCOLATE BAR!” Winning kid lords it over the non winning kid. I tell her that we have to wait to cash it, because you have to cash it with a purchase, and the lines are too long to go back and get it that day.


Today:
Take the kids to Safeway to pick up some OTC meds for the non-winning kid (who is presently experiencing a delightful GI affliction.) Let the winning kid pick out her chocolate bar. Insist she share with her sister. Go through the line up with the SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWEST cashier on earth. Pregnant snails in the Mojave move faster. Get the free bar, meds. Cashier hands the kids the pull tabs. Greedy little ingrates rip them open. The same kid that won the chocolate bar yesterday starts screaming:

“OH! I WON! I WON!” and starts jumping around like a contestant on the Price is Right.
“I WON! I WON! WHAAAAAA? NO! AW….. THAT SUCKS!”

She won a can of Thick and Chunky Soup.

Mmm, mmm, good.

Mmm, mmm, good.

One thought on “Winning Isn’t Everything, Right?

  1. Hello Tia,

    My name is Spencer, a reporter of Fairchild TV. I am working on a piece on school funding/fundraising at the moment, and read an article which you wrote couple years ago. I am curious to know if you still have the same feeling right now? Is there an email that I could reach you at? Looking forward to hear back from you soon!

    Cheers,
    Spencer

Leave a comment