Falling Off the Face of the Earth for the Greater Good

Image

This blog has primarily been a forum for me to write about real-life foibles when the spirit moves me, and clearly, the spirit has been something of a couch potato in 2012. I have not been moved.

Granted, I have been involved in a number of other awesome projects that have detracted from humour writing, from my ongoing work with the fantastic crew at Politics Re-Spun to chipping away at educational pursuits.

Earlier in the year, Politics Re-Spun stepped outside of our comfy online alternative media box, and merged with a fantastic, well established radio show “The Rational” on Vancouver Co-Op Radio (CFRO 102.7 FM) to become “Politics Re-Spun“, which airs at 6 pm PST on Monday nights. This has added a new element to creative growth, activism and outreach. I feel blessed and humbled to have been able to be a part of the merger process, and all of the confusion, joy and camaraderie that ensues. It has been both tear-jerkingly stressful and blissfully orgasmic to have tried on new roles as interviewer, panelist and subject on the air. I’d link in some of the pieces I was a part of, but that would require digging through months of raw archives, and my ambition isn’t that keen today.

I have always been a political person – it thrills and excites me like nothing else – but have been wandering in a political desert of my own making for the last decade or so.  2012 has been a year of growing in activism and drilling down at the core of what I really do believe, and what I’m willing to publicly fight for. It is a humbling process when you determine exactly what your core values, ethics and beliefs are. I now find myself branded by my government as a “radical” and “enemy of the state.” Considering the corruption and complete contempt for Canadian values displayed by the federal government? The label is well with my soul.

But wait! There’s more!

May witnessed the birth of a new project for a number of us on the Re-Spun team. A business was born to Kevin, Stephen, Julie, Anna, Alex and I. We’ve named the baby Incipe Cooperative. Incipe is a consulting co-op firm, specializing in advocacy research, organizational support/development and strategic advice. From our site:

The Incipe Workers’ Cooperative is a cooperative consulting firm that specializes in political and advocacy communication, research, organisational support and development, and strategic advice. The cooperative works with nonprofit organisations, progressive associations, grassroots groups, and other co-ops on various progressive projects – in support of a better world.

The concept behind Incipe arises from two essential observations: first, there is a tremendous amount of ideas for a better world and the necessary energy to work with them in the civil society sector. Nonprofit organizations and grassroots groups work every day on the causes that they feel strongest and closest to their hearts. Advocacy groups run campaigns to bring into force the changes that they know will make a difference. Progressive organizations work every day for what they believe in. This first essential observation is the spirit and the energy behind the Incipe Workers’ Cooperative.

The second essential observation is that these groups need experience and resources in order to be the change that they wish to see in the world, and these experiences and resources – when they come from traditional consulting or strategic companies and firms – are too expensive for many such groups to afford.

This is where Incipe comes in: we are a progressive consulting firm that understands the needs and desires of our clients, and we have the experience and resources that they need – and we can offer it to them at an affordable level of cost.

The names of the big, old, expensive and, often, inherently conservative consulting firms are fairly well known. The Incipe Workers’ Cooperative is not an old and conservative consulting firm – we are different, and we are working with our clients to make a difference.

I’m not going to lie. It’s very exciting. As we continue to unravel the process of becoming established and putting our foundation in place, I look forward to this new phase in my career/advocacy development.  The older I get, the more I crave fulfillment in my work, beyond merely putting in time. I want to have impact, plant seeds and witness it bear fruit.

I continued to serve on several boards of directors/committee assignments this year, all of which are early/elementary education related. In my second year of participation at this level, there is less shrouding and mystery involving people and process, and more revelation into why things are done/who is doing them/motive. This is not always a good thing: ignorance is sometimes truly bliss. Happy idiot, if you will. People like me will always fail at avoiding throwing rocks at hornet’s nests, so ignorance never really gets to set in or fester for long.

I’m now a month away from clutching a real estate licence in my hands, God willing. After turning in another two case studies and writing my final exam, I will legally be allowed to be turned lose on the real estate market in Manitoba. How cool is that? Real estate has long been something that has fascinated me, and when my husband suggested that I pursue it educationally, I gingerly embarked on the path. It had been a long time since I last navigated the waters of formal education, and I had some trepidation about wading in. A year later, and I’ve had the surprising pleasure of finding that I was not only able to peck away at it successfully, but also score high on my final exams. People have been asking me if I’ll be selling homes this fall, and honestly, I do not know if that is the direction I plan on taking. I like having options, and that is one of them. I enjoy flying by the seat of my pants.

I’ve contemplated canning this site because of the lack of care and attention I’ve been able to give it over the last little while, but the metrics on the site indicate that people are still coming here to read and laugh. Thank you! It means a lot to me. I hope that I’ll be able to entertain you again soon. Just you wait…

One thought on “Falling Off the Face of the Earth for the Greater Good

  1. Good luck with your new carreer! Congrats! And if you ever get the chance to go sailing in the summer…you will see on the horizen, that indded it looks as if you will sail off the edge of the earth.

Leave a Reply

