Get Your Drool On: Hot Italian Sausage, Cherry Tomato, Pecorino & Basil Pasta

From time to time, I stumble across a recipe that is made of win, awesome and sparkles. Tonight, I managed to do this twice.

Shortly after lunch (lentil salad with brown rice, since you’re wondering) The Old Man implored me to make “some pasta tonight.” I was in the right mood for something pasta-y, so I told him I’d oblige. I had a bit of a hankering for some fresh tomatoes, salty and zippy sausage and prolific quantities of garden-fresh basil. Time to get creative!

I took the kids out on a mission to collect the necessary implements. First stop:Kokopelli Produce for fresh veggies. Then I moved on to neighbouring import specialty store The Docks for some great olive oil, a pepper grinder, wine vinegar and a red pepper spiked linguine.  I rounded it out by visiting the local grocery store for some hot sausage and some cheeses.

Home again, home again, jiggidy jig.

While The Old Man entertained the kids, I prepped the veggies, browned the sausages, boiled the pasta, grated the cheese. Following the recipe and making my own adjustments, dinner was ready and on our plates in less than 20 minutes.

It was, in a word,  amazeballs.

Even our fussier child (The Little One) who normally rejects things with too much spice scarfed down the first helping, and asked for seconds. All parties at the table agreed that this was a keeper recipe. The contrast of the nippy basil, heat from the sausage and the chilli linguini and the salty cheese made my toes curl. So. Darn. Good.

Based on a recipe that I found on Real Simple, I made changes to suit myself, and changed it up enough to claim it as my own.

For your enjoyment:

Hot Italian Sausage, Cherry Tomato, Pecorino & Basil Pasta


Ingredients

  • 1  pound  dry linguini —> I used a red linguini, spiked with hot red chilli peppers
  • 3  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1  medium red onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 4  hot Italian sausages, casings removed
  • 1  pint red or yellow cherry tomatoes
  • 2  tablespoons  red wine vinegar
  • 3/4  teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 1/2  cup  fresh basil leaves, torn
  • 1  cup  spinach, torn
  • 1/4  cup  freshly grated Pecorino (Parmesan or Romano would work if you don’t have Pecorino handy)

Preparation

Cook the linguini according to the package directions. Drain and set aside. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until the onion softens, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the sausage and cook about 5 minutes, using a wooden spoon to crumble it. Add the tomatoes and cook until the skins burst, about 8 minutes. Stir in the vinegar, salt, and pepper. Add the cooked linguini, basil, and spinach and toss gently to combine. Serve in bowls and top with Pecorino or Parmesan.

Serves 4.

Prep = 10 minutes/Cook time =  15 minutes

2 thoughts on “Get Your Drool On: Hot Italian Sausage, Cherry Tomato, Pecorino & Basil Pasta

Leave a Reply

